My experience; My Ex Wardrobe

When I moved to Dubai, I only brought flowy skirts, tank tops, and loose cotton t-shirts. I had a vision that here every day is incredibly hot, so it’s not even possible to wear trousers or normal clothes like back in Europe. So I had two bags full of – it turned out – useless clothes.

image_21

Now I’m working in an office 9-18:00, in 24 degrees, A/C ON the whole day… sometimes it’s freezing, even with my jacket on. Most of the times I’m wearing trousers, shirts, jackets rarely a pencil skirt, as typical office workers do. And what’s with the summer wardrobe, what I brought? To tell the truth, they are in the same bags since I arrived.

image_7

When I realized that I had no more space in my wardrobe, I had to figure out something. Then one of my friends suggested to me, to check out the My Ex Wardrobe site , which is an initiative for giving a second chance for your clothes at happiness. In my country the second hand shops, and the monthly second hand markets/events are amazingly popular, but here in Dubai it’s still in babyshoes. But the MEW Team, recognized the need, and established this amazing opportunity.

After I checked their site I figured out that there are two ways to sell; one is register and buy a membership on the site, then upload your items and wait until someone falls in love with them and buy, or the other way is to participate on a MEW event as a seller. Because I was in a hurry, I choose the second option. I collected all my stuff in perfect condition, delivered to the girls from MEW, fill the form, gave the pricing, paid the 150 AED registration fee… done.

image_18

image_11

image_2

My clothes were hanging on the stands of the Summer Special Sale during Ramadan, at the Rivington Grill in Madinat Jumeirah. I arrived, just a few minutes after the opening time, and the place was already crowded. The clothes and accessories are sorted by type & colour, they looked amazing. I felt the temptation to buy something, but then I reminded myself “I am here to sell!”, and free up some place in my wardrobe, not to collect more clothes. So I walked around, then took a deep breath and left.

image_19

image_9

image_4

A few days later the MEW team contacted me, and I went to collect the clothes which didn’t find a new owner. I sold several pieces, I earned 175 AED (I paid 150 AED for the registration, so it’s only 25 AED), and a great experience. So now I know where to turn, if I want to sell something. I’m impressed by how well organized, and lovely are these three ladies – Sian, Teagan and Bekki – they were very nice and helpful, the whole time. I earned a little extra money which directly went to my “Baby box”, and finally I gained extra space in my wardrobe.

If you want to know more about My Ex Wardrobe, check out the following links, or contact the girls on this e-mail address; event@myexwardrobe.com

http://www.myexwardrobe.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MyExWardrobe

https://twitter.com/myexwardrobe

2 thoughts on “My experience; My Ex Wardrobe

  1. neat idea! secondhand places are definitely very common in my country as well so it must have been kind of weird to find out they were rare in the UAE!

Leave a comment